Yard-O-Beef® - Hillshire Farm® Brand

Yard-O-Beef® Summer Sausage

Yard-O-Beef® Summer Sausage is rated 2.0 out of 5 by 17.
  • y_2019, m_9, d_22, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_17
  • loc_en_US, sid_12890CA725764CADA7D9A6502CB88BD7, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_hillshire-farm
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.1.1.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 234ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
The Yard-O-Beef® beef Summer Sausage is made with quality cuts of beef and smoked the old-fashioned way to give big flavor in a big summer sausage.
Nutrition & Ingredients

Nutritional Info

  • Serving Size 2 oz (56g)
  • Servings Per Container 24
  • Amount Per Serving
  • Calories 190 Calories From Fat 140
  • Total Fat 16g 24%
  • Saturated Fat 7g 33%
  • Trans Fat 0.5g
  • Cholesterol 45mg 15%
  • Sodium 710mg 29%
  • Total Carbohydrate 1g 0%
  • Dietary Fiber 1g 1%
  • Sugar 1g
  • Protein 11g
  • Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 0%
  • Calcium 0% Iron 6%
  • *Percent daily values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Due to potential product reformulations, the most accurate information can be found on the product package.

Ingredients

BEEF, SALT, Contains 2% or less of: NATURAL FLAVORS, CITRIC ACID, WHOLE MUSTARD SEED, DEXTROSE, VITAMIN C (SODIUM ASCORBATE), SODIUM NITRITE.

How to Cook/Handle/Prepare

Keep Refrigerated After Opening

You might also like

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yard of Lard I haven't bought any HF products for a while , so I was looking forward to the old taste I had remembered. When I sliced up the yard of beef 30% of the slices crumbled on The cutting board. It was mostly fat. My family deserves much better. We won't be buying any HF products for the foreseeable future.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mushy and weird I’ve never experienced this before, but this Yard O Beef is squishy, globby, impossible to slice, and unpleasant to eat. I tried frying slices and cooked out tons of fat, but what was left was unbearably salty. My husband loves these and we bought two at Sams! I would like to hear back from the company. Also, would love suggestions on how I could prepare this since it is not good straight off the stick, which is how we usually eat it.
Date published: 2019-02-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as Good as it used to Be !!!! I've been buying yard-o-beef sausages as holiday gifts for over 15 years, and have probably eaten a dozen of these myself, but something has definitely happened to the quality. Instead of a nice meaty sausage, it now looks and tastes more like a gob of lard. Nothing like it used to look and taste like. It's not just me - everyone that has tried it has commented. My son's and daughters, who have loved it in the past, actually think it's disgusting and won't touch it. It's a real shame, but I think I will have to toss it in the trash this year. I bought two sticks and going to take it back to the store to see if i can get a refund.
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Quality has changed. Every holiday season I have purchased this for charcuterie boards and grab bag gifts. I just opened some for a party tonight. The texture and flavor have changed. What a disappointment.
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What happened to my favorite beef sausage?? I've been buying yard-o-beef sausages as holiday gifts for over 15 years, and have probably eaten a dozen of these myself, but something has definitely happened to the quality. Instead of a nice meaty sausage, it now looks and tastes more like a bologna. It even has a "livery" flavor. Nothing like it used to look and taste like. It's not just me - everyone that has tried it has commented. My daughters, who have loved it in the past, actually think it's disgusting and won't touch it. It's a real shame, but I think I will have to toss it in the trash this year and apologize to everyone I gifted with this sausage.
Date published: 2018-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WOW. Where's the beef? As others have stated, having Hillshire Farm Beef Logs served around the holidays has been an on-again, off-again family tradition going back decades. It used to taste like, well, beef, and the texture was firm. I also recall the color being darker. Well, the tradition has permanently come to and end. Over the last few years the product has changed for the worst. This year, the Yard-O-Beef literally melts in your mouth, but not in a good way. It's pure mush, say, a wee-bit firmer than oatmeal that's been standing. It's not what beef should do in your mouth. As far as the flavor, it's heavy on the salt and light on the beef, as if trying to hide something. However, taste and texture are often intertwined in foods, and I just couldn't overcome the texture. I tried to fry it in a vain attempt to give it some body but it made things worse—as if it should've been packaged in a squeeze tube. Perhaps that's a clue as to its main content. With the history that surrounds this product, I sure hope Hillshire can regroup and produce a premium, quality beef log that's truly worthy of all 365 days of the year.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why would they swap a great recipe for mush? We bought the Hillshire Farms Yard-O-Beef at Walmart this year. It's always been the best beef log available. NOT this year. The fat content seems to be higher than the meat content, if there's actually any meat in it at all. Warm or cold there was no flavor and it was mushy. Actually it was pretty disgusting. This product used to be our favorite for meat and cheese trays. This year we had the throw the whole log out. We will not be buying this product anymore.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yard-O-Beef Hillshire Farms We have served this product at all our holiday get togethers for many years. This year we purchased 2 to start. When my husband tried to slice it on an electric slicer, it smeared grease or fat all over the blade and guard of the slicer. We tried to chill the slices, thinking that it would firm up, and firm up it did. Now it breaks into chunks when you handle it. This product used to be our favorite for meat and cheese trays. Now it has no texture, bad flavor and and a different aroma compared to years past. We will not be buying this product anymore.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very mushy! We typically start purchasing this product around the holidays and we make huge baskets for family containing all meat. At home here we always snack on the beef summer sausage all through the holidays. We are horrified at the taste now. Ugghhh it’s mushy and gross OMG I’m so sad to say that this year we will not include any Hillshire farms in our baskets for family. My husband said “that it was processed with to much fat” and I say, “it don’t matter if it wasn’t broke why change it?” I do not think this product is fit for sale. Please change it back.
Date published: 2017-11-14